OAKLAND A’S MLN: CAMP NOTES (originally posted 3/21/13 on OaklandClubhouse)


Lamas is making a strong first impression.

We have several tidbits of information from Oakland A’s minor league camp, including the current camp rosters for the A’s four full-season affiliates.

Minor League Camp Notes

In less than two weeks, the A’s minor league camp will conclude. Thus far, A’s minor league hitting coordinator Todd Steverson and pitching coordinator Scott Emerson have been pleased with the work that has been put in by their respective groups.

“I am very pleased with the progress and maturity of all of our players putting their work into play in the games,” Steverson said.

A few notes from Steverson and Emerson:

– Emerson has been impressed with RHP Michael Ynoa right now. Emerson said that Ynoa has shown three plus major league pitches. “He needs to go out and pitch and get innings under his belt,” Emerson said.

– A’s 2012 supplemental first-round pick Daniel Robertson is still working his way back from off-season knee surgery. Robertson is currently in a baseball activity progression and should be playing in games soon. Robertson might be held back in Arizona for the first few weeks of the regular season, especially with the poor weather conditions likely in the Midwest League over the first few weeks of the season.

– Steverson noted that 2010 first-round pick Michael Choice has continued to swing the hot bat he displayed during his stint in major league camp. Steverson also noted that Aaron Shipman, Matt Olson, Addison Russell, Chris Bostick, Bruce Maxwell,Chad Oberacker and Dusty Coleman have put together high quality at-bats thus far this spring.

Perez, Lamas Join The Organization

There are two new faces in A’s minor league camp: RHP Sergio Perez and IF Antonio Lamas. Perez was signed as a minor league free agent early this spring. The formerHouston Astros farmhand spent last season with Triple-A Oklahoma City. He had a 4.54 ERA in 75.1 innings. Perez had a 59:37 K:BB ratio.

Emerson said that Perez, the former 2006 second-round pick, will add depth to the A’s system.

“I have seen him a lot over the years and have always like the way he competes,” Emerson said.

Lamas was acquired by the A’s from the Mexican Summer League. The 23-year-old hit 15 homers and posted a 906 OPS last season for Monclova of the Mexican Summer League. He also had an 804 OPS for Mexicali of the Mexican Winter League this past off-season.

Steverson has liked what he has seen from Lamas at the plate thus far.

“Lamas is a nice pickup,” Steverson said. “He has a knack for barreling a baseball.”

Current A’s Minor League Rosters

Now that the minor league spring game schedule is underway, the players in A’s camp have been divided up into teams for the four full-season affiliates. These rosters are far from official, but they do give a few hints as to where some of these players will be assigned once the season begins.

Generally speaking, players don’t move up a level during spring training, but many move down as players from major league camp are reassigned to minor league camp. In other words, if a player is at Double-A, he isn’t likely to move up to Triple-A before the start of the regular season, but he could move back to High-A as a player from major league camp is assigned to Triple-A, pushing a Triple-A player down to Double-A.

As of March 20, 2013, the minor leaguers in A’s camp were assigned to the following teams. Rosters courtesy of Kimberly Contreras.

Sacramento River Cats
Travis Banwart
Bruce Billings
Jesse Chavez
Carlos Fisher
Brian Gordon
Sonny Gray
Carlos Hernandez
Arnold Leon
Kyler Newby
James Simmons
Justin Thomas
Andrew Werner

Ryan Ortiz
David Freitas
Beau Taylor

Grant Green
Josh Horton
Jefry Marte
Tommy Mendonca
Scott Moore
Darwin Perez

Jeremy Barfield
Michael Choice
Conner Crumbliss
Chad Oberacker
Michael TaylorMidland
Josh Bowman
Jake Brown
Darren Byrd
Frank Gailey
Drew Granier
A.J. Huttenlocker
Jonathan Joseph
Nate Long
Jose Macias
Sean Murphy
Sergio Perez
Murphy Smith
Paul Smyth
Jeff Urlaub
Pedro Vidal
T.J. Walz

Ryan Delgado
Ryan Lipkin
Nick Rickles

Anthony Aliotti
Dusty Coleman
Michael Fabiaschi
Miles Head
Wade Kirkland
Tyler Ladendorf
Tony Thompson

Bobby Crocker
D’Arby Myers
Myrio Richard
Dusty Robinson
Josh Whitaker

Raul Alcantara
Andres Avila
Logan Chitwood
Omar Duran
Nate Eppley
Seth Frankoff
Blake Hassebrock
Deyvi Jimenez
David Mota
Chaz Mye
Max Perlman
Tanner Peters
Daniel Petitti
Brent Powers
Drew Tyson

Diomedes Lopez
Bruce Maxwell
John Nester

Antonio Lamas
Chad Lewis
Max Muncy
Ryan Pineda
Addison Russell
Wilfredo Solano
Jacob Tanis
B.A. Vollmuth

Austin Booker
Royce Consigli
Rashun Dixon
Aaron Shipman
John Wooten

Dakota Bacus
Kayvon Bahramzadah
Derek De Young
Ryan Dull
Kris Hall
Derek Hansen
Tucker Healey
Austin House
Tyler Johnson
Cody Kurz
Chris Lamb
Taylor Massey
J.C. Menna
Gregory Paulino
Stuart Pudenz
Lee Sosa
Seth Streich
Cecil Tanner
Tyler Vail
Vince Voiro
Michael Ynoa

Seong-Min Kim
Reynaldo Mateo
Andy Paz
Phil Pohl

Chris Bostick
Melvin Mercedes
Renato Nunez
Matt Olsen
Zhi-Fang Pan
Sam Roberts
Daniel Robertson
Michael Soto

Dayton Alexander
B.J. Boyd
Vicmal De La Cruz
Matt Hillsinger
Xavier Macklin
Ryan Mathews
Rhett Stafford
Jordan Tripp
Brett Vertigan


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s